News & Events

Announcing the 2014-2015 Abe Fellows


We are pleased to announce the Abe Fellows and Abe Journalism Fellows for the 2014-2015 cycle.  These two programs are designed to encourage research and coverage on topics of pressing global concern.  The programs are administered by the Social Science Research Council (SSRC) with support from the American Council of Learned Societies.  Funding for this program is provided by CGP.  We encourage you to learn more about the Abe Fellowship Program and the Abe Fellowship Program for Journalists, as well as the issues the fellows will be tackling by visiting their respective program pages. 

Abe Fellows 2014-2015

Kaori Hayashi    
Professor, Interfaculty Initiative in Information Studies    
University of Tokyo    

Shinsuke Ikeda    
Professor, Institute of Social and Economic Research    
University of Osaka    

Shoko Kiyohara    
Associate Professor, School of Information & Communication    
Meiji University    

Phillip Y. Lipscy    
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science    
Stanford University    

Toru Morotomi    
Professor, Graduate School of Economics    
Kyoto University

Gene Park    
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science    
Loyola Marymount University

Noriko Porter    
Instructor, Human Development         
Washington State University

Jordan Sand    
Professor, Department of History/Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures
Georgetown University    

Jaganath Sankaran    
Postdoctoral Fellow, John F. Kennedy School of Government    
Harvard University

Kay Shimizu    
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science        
Columbia University

Daisaku Yamamoto    
Associate Professor, Geography and Asian Studies        
Colgate University

Masaru Yarime    
Project Associate Professor, Science, Technology and Innovation, Graduate School of Public Policy
University of Tokyo

Abe Journalism Fellows 2014-2015

Hiroko Aihara
Director, Japan Perspective News, Inc.

Kim Gittleson
Business Reporter, British Broadcasting Corporation

Adam Tanner
Fellow, Harvard University, Institute for Quantitative Social Science

Sharon Weinberger
Reporter, Freelance & Wilson Center (nonresident fellow)